Week 6


Once again it is hard for me to believe that Week 6 is here and flying by. I made it a family outing this week to go to the grocery story together to pick out tasty “healthy choices.” Okay, {I have to confess}, somehow a bag of chips – which my husband adamantly pointed out were the healthiest chips! – did appear in our cart as we were nearing check-out. Otherwise, we have a healthy-food buzz in the house: everyone is talking more about eating well and including at least one if not more veg and/or fruit in every meal. I continue to work on my goal of moving more – and this week it was emphasized that women should aim to get 150 minutes of moderate exercise per week. I am perfecting my “house walk” – up and down stairs and all around each day, and when the weather is nice, I slip on those walking shoes.

As we were shopping for healthy foods and I was looking for an assortment of organic ingredients to try out, I had a flashback from my childhood – experimenting with a recipe for super-duper healthy granola that often felt like a boulder in my stomach for the rest of the day. (I once baked cookies that received the constant comment – “oh, those REALLY look healthy.” {In other words – thanks but no thanks.} I realized that for me, it is really important to find and cook healthy foods that both taste and “feel” great.

I can’t help quoting Julia Child even though I rarely taste steak: “The only time to eat diet food is when you’re waiting for the steak to cook.” 😉
~Nina

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.