The Numbers Tell a Good Tale

Once upon a time, a woman decided it was time to make some healthy lifestyle changes, and applied to the Go Red for Women Heart BetterU Challenge, sponsored by Provena and the American Heart Association.  Like a princess she felt, when notified of her chosen status as one of the nine participants.  The duckling was ready to journey toward a more heart healthy “swan-like” life!

I just completed my program end diagnostic screenings at Provena Saint Joseph’s Women’s Heart Center.  After 12 weeks, I lowered my “Total Cholesterol” 33 points, from 203, down to 170!  My LDL (bad) cholesterol is now 97, compared to 117.

I’ve lost 17 pounds since the program’s inception, took 2 inches off my waistline, and reduced my BMI from 28 to 25.5.  Another 5 pounds or so to lose, and I’ll be under the 25 desirable range.

My risk profile shows a 0.5% probability for coronary heart disease, as compared to the average risk of 3.5% for a women of my age, 52.  My “cardiac age” is 37, so I guess I really am “young at heart”.   (Thank you parents, for the good genes!)  My heart scan showed all 5 arteries are clear, with zero calcification.  It’s good to know these numbers!

Thank you American Heart Association, Provena Mercy Medical Center, and Provena Saint Joseph Hospital for all your provided education and support.

Carole

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Numbers Tell a Good Tale

  1. AWESOME job Chicklet! So proud of you!

  2. Way to go….I have my last testing Friday morning and it really has kept me true to heating healthy. I hope to achieve a weight loss anywhere close to yours….and good work on the NUMBERS going down. Looking forward to our GO RED ‘party’ next week…..Murna Hansemann was promoting it today on the Elgin radio program. Yeah…more supporters! See you soon!
    Sandy

  3. provenahealth says:

    Wow, that’s amazing!! Way to go Carole!

  4. Jackie says:

    Great Job! I am so proud to be part of such an outstanding, dedicated group! The Fab “9”!!

  5. Jodi says:

    Carole – truly amazing! Congratulations and I can’t wait to see you next Friday!

Leave a Reply

