The Truth Comes Out for Karen

I have to be honest with you. When I started this journey I did it for selfish reasons. I didn’t have a family history of heart disease, my tests and blood work came back fine but I wanted to make a change for ME. After the last week I had, I now know the reason God placed this chapter in my life. Three, count them 1, 2, 3 people in my life died very unexpectedly. Let me give you their ages; 44, 46 and 71. Can you guess what caused their deaths? You guessed it, massive heart attacks. When you take this drama and add in my daughters friend getting diagnosed with leukemia, my churches fundraiser that I was in charge of and my teenage son stretching his wings and making some not so great choices, it totals up to the most stressful week I have had in my life. Really you say, that bad? I have lived through an abusive marriage, been homeless with 2 kids and have gotten divorced in the past chapters of my book, but this week tops it all for stress level. Are you waiting for me to tell you that I fell off the wagon and ate myself into a food coma? Well, I hate to disappoint you, but I am proud to say I stayed the course and externalized my stress. I beat the hell out of the bag at the gym while asking God what more is coming my way. I am blessed that Better U came into my life when it did so I saw the signs that were being placed in front of me. I’ll admit I would have passed them up a few months ago but now, they are as big as a billboard and tattooed on my brain.

I can’t sign off looking like a Debbie Downer, so I will share a milestone with you! I am down about 33 pounds since the beginning of the year, my body fat has dropped by 7%, my former Pillsbury Dough body is taking shape and I was able to knock over the bag at the gym on Tuesday night. Our instructor said if anyone could do it, he would give us 50 pushups! Well, as another student videotaped him fulfilling his end of the bargain, I smiled knowing there was something positive I can take away from this week. As the bible says, I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Stay strong ladies and know that you are a valuable asset to many!

 My challenge to you this week is to get your cholesterol checked, schedule a CT scan to get a report card on how your heart is and make some healthy food choices. Who knows, the results you get might save your life!  

Hugs – Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Truth Comes Out for Karen

  1. sandy krug says:

    WOW…amazing strength, Karen! They say God never gives you more than you can handle, and it is wonderful He knows you well! Keep doing what you are doing….have a great weekend and see you next Monday!
    Sandy

  2. heather says:

    wow Karen!! You are an inspiration! 33 #s!! Unbelivable.

  3. Jodi says:

    Great job Karen – very inspirational!

  4. Maggie says:

    Karen, you are such an inspiration. This brought tears to my eyes! Have you ever thought about becoming a motivational speaker? I think you would be amazing. You have such a great way with words and so much passion.

Leave a Reply

