Trying to Balance Life-Jennifer

Just when you think you have it all figured out, life really knows how to throw you through a loop. I loved meeting with the Dietician on February 24th. I learned that a person should not burn more than 1000 calories a day or the body doesn’t know how to react and goes into fat saving mode. I also learned that the dietician believes in the Bodybugg system. It’s a monitor you wear on your left tricep and it tells you how many calories you have burned throughout the day. I own the Bodybugg but I don’t always wear it. I am having problems with staying focus. I have my week planned out and I know what needs to get done from exercise to food. However life gets in the way.

Unfortunately I missed the session on exercise. I heard it was really informative. I can say that exercise is not my weakness, food is. I can say that I have been consistent with exercise. I may not be able to tell on the scale but I can tell in the way I feel. I work with a trainer three times a week. My overall muscle strength has improved greatly. My flabby arms are going away. Just in time for summer! I would like to incorporate more cardio in my routine. I know with the time change that there will be no problem there. I truly am sick of the indoor workouts. So with everyday that was around 40 degrees or better I went for a walk. I also play two tennis matches a week. I have a walking partner setup that I met through the Better U program. We plan on doing morning walks two times a week at 5am starting the last week in March. I also mentioned to my partner a Walk2Run program our local running store Dick Ponds has. The Walk2Run program is free and it takes you from start of walking to running for 30 minutes in 10 weeks. At the end of the program you can run a 5K. I participated in the program last year until I injured myself. I plan on getting back on the running wagon again in April.

A few of my friends and I have decided to participate in the Merrell Down & Dirty 5K in May. If you don’t know what that is check out the website: http://www.downanddirtymudrun.com/ . Military style obstacles, cargo climbs, water crossings, and mud mud mud. Sounds like a blast and I can’t wait. So the running program will help with the endurance part. I will need to do some other training prior. I do have a big event this week. I will be playing in the BNP Paribas Open in Palm Springs with my Tri-level tennis team. Not only do I get to play my favorite sport, I can catch some rays and get a little R&R. I will be coming back with an exercise high. So hopefully the weather in Illinois will hold above 40 degrees. I need to start training for the Down & Dirty.

Looking forward to our next session in the Better U program. We go in for our Midway Behavioral Health Assessment. Just call me crazy and call it a day.

Until then,
Jennifer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

