This is the LUCKIEST St. Patty’s Day ever…..because I am healthy!

Well, you probably thought I fell off the face of the earth. Would you believe I have been busy experimenting with different exercises and trying new vegetables? Since everyone deserves a laugh, I have decided to share a few of my adventures. Always one to challenge myself, I had read a TON of different articles giving me tricks to squeeze in some exercise. Scenario one was bringing those lovely resistance cords to my office. You know the ones. They look like a thick rubber snake with handles on each end. Well, why not utilize these while on a conference call? I was so proud of myself for taking the extra step and throwing in some resistance training during what would have been a sedentary call. I started out by standing on the band with both feet and did a few sets of arm curls. Whoo Hoo! Look at me! I am Wonder Woman! SheRa, Queen of the cords! As my muscles burned, my confidence soared. As I have stated before, God has a terrific sense of humor. He let me go on with a few more exercises and that’s when my cockiness and smugness set in. I decided to sit and stick my feet out and loop the cords around my feet. It only took 3 of these and a question asked on the conference call to distract me enough to flex my feet a little and BAM! The cord snapped up at hit me square in the face. With my ego bruised, I tried to explain what the noise was from my phone. As I touched my face, I could feel the cute little welt across my shocked face. Needless to say the exercise was great but I need to work on FOCUSING!

My next adventure was to do leg squats and crunches during commercial breaks of 1 television show. Sounds simple enough right? Unfortunately I picked The Biggest Loser which is a 2 hour show. I never in my life realized how many darn breaks were in a prime-time show until now. When I stepped out of bed this morning I felt like I had ridden cross country on a sway back mare in my groin area and my abs felt like the sequel to Alien was inside my tummy! Was there a lesson learned? Quit exercising you say. No! The lesson is know your limitations. Maybe every other commercial break for next time!

On to the new veggies in my life. A friend invited me over for pizza. She said it would be healthy. Loaded with spinach, garlic and artichoke hearts, I felt like I died and went to heaven. The pizza was yummy however we went to play volleyball a few hours later and I am unsure if we won because of our skills or because my breath knocked them out! The garlic breath was well worth it for that taste! I also tried sweet potato fries that were a huge hit at my house. After my kids scarfed them down, I revealed that these were the same sweet potatoes that they turned their noses up at for the past 15 years! Here is the recipe: 2 tablespoons olive oil, a few shakes of Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy and also Southwest Chipolte seasoning. Throw that in a ziploc bag with 3 sweet potatoes cut up in strips like French fries. Shake until coated and dump on a cookie sheet. Bake at 400 degrees for 40 minutes and turn midway through. My son exclaimed, ‘these are the bomb!’

Life is an adventure and look at all the fun things that happen when you are stepping out of your comfort zone…….you end up with enough comedy material to possibly publish a book!

Cheers to a great week and HAPPY ST. PATRICKS DAY!!! It won’t be long before beach weather is here!

Karen :o)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is the LUCKIEST St. Patty’s Day ever…..because I am healthy!

  1. Melissa says:

    let’s do those sweet potato fries in key west!! i am so proud of you – keep up the good work!

  2. Maggie says:

    Karen, I have to try those sweet potato fries! My husband refuses to eat sweet potatoes. Even when I cover them in butter and brown sugar. Which isn’t really the best option anyway. But maybe I can win him over, we are trying to eat better.

  3. You are so funny. Keep up the good work and experimenting. This is what this challenge is all about for me, trying new things to keep healthy and not bored. mayra

Leave a Reply

