Karen Says Take Time To Smell The Flowers!

What a week this has been! I have been on a healthy high for weeks and today I feel like the balloon that lost all of its helium. I had to drive my younger brother to the hospital today to the cardiac cath lab to have his ticker checked out and a 39 year old friend passed away a few days ago from heart disease really hammering home that HEART DISEASE KNOWS NO AGE! I am thinking that God is putting these scenarios in front of me as my lifeline. He is trying to tell me something and with the AHA and Provena’s bringing this to my attention, I will make the changes necessary to live a heart healthy life. Do you have signs that are being placed right in front of you that you are ignoring? Time to walk through life with your eyes wide open!

OK, enough of the Debbie Downer talk and on to the important stuff! What did you do this week for YOU? Are you treating yourself like the Diva you are? I have some of the easiest ways for you to make yourself feel good and it won’t even cost you a dime! I have 2 little men in my life that are special, Colin and Caleb. Both go to my church and both make me feel like a million bucks whenever I see them. To have these little guys race up and hug you would make anyone’s frustration and stress melt right away. The way they light up a room with their 1000 watt smile and infectious laughter would melt even the hardest of hearts. A monster hug and a giggle from them work better than any therapist around. For those of you that have kids and need another option for a free get-a-way, why not go volunteer at a mission or food pantry for a few hours? I will guarantee if you go into this with an open mind, this will be one of the most rewarding experiences of your life. So many times we focus on the all the bad things going on in our lives that we forget to be thankful for what we do have.

I have a challenge for you this week. It is simple. Sit quietly and reflect for 5 minutes and think of how many things are you missing because you are rushing through life? Stop and smell the flowers. Enjoy life NOW. It has an expiration date.

Cheers in finding your free stress buster as you walk through this week!

Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Karen Says Take Time To Smell The Flowers!

  1. Carol says:

    Karen…you will be very proud of me! I joined Peek Fitness tonight and have an hour with the personal trainer on Wed morning!!

  2. sandy krug says:

    Thanks Karen! And I think you even added gorgeous flowers to look at! It wasn’t my ‘normal’ download picture icon….but I bravely clicked on OPEN HYPERLINK and VOILA! It’s a miracle…but I still am not sure how or why!

    Your message is timely and inspirational….what I am trying desparately to do is cultivate actual lifestyle CHANGES, and not just make this about an interim diet, or an end in sight with the pending wedding. New habits for a lifetime! Thanks and hope to see you next week!
    Sandy Krug

Leave a Reply

