Work In Progress! Karen’s Under Funstruction!

Well, Jackie and I had our session with Craig last night. Craig is the Big Kahuna in the behavioral health department at Provena St. Joseph Hospital. I joked to all that this was my psych evaluation and wondered how long it would take him to figure out I was insane! It was relief to know that I am not going crazy (OK, Craig might argue with that) but have the same fears and concerns as several of our other ladies. Always feeling the pressure to please and not disappoint. After listening to Craig (and Dr. Jackie who joined in the intervention), I realized the main 3 people I was disappointing was me, myself and I. In the road of life, I was making bigger potholes than you would see on the South side of Chicago! And who was getting stuck in them? ME! So I made a promise to myself not to beat myself up if I have a bad food day or if I don’t make it to the gym 7 days a week. I pictured myself standing in my own construction zone of life with a cute little hard hat on, a bright orange vest and a wonderful sign that read, SLOW DOWN! Getting healthy is not supposed to be a race but a journey. I was acting like the hare instead of the turtle and we all know the outcome of that story! So I challenge you all this weekend to take some time for yourself, relax and enjoy life. I am hoping you listen to the attached song,  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pO6DXOsKOw4 ,  take a deep breath and give yourself some credit. Here is the first verse:

Everybody falls sometimes
Gotta find the strength to rise
From the ashes and make a new beginning
Anyone can feel the ache
You think its more than you can take
But you are stronger, stronger than you know
Don’t you give up now
The sun will soon be shining
You gotta face the clouds
To find the silver lining

Remember, life is so much more, than what your eyes are seeing. Enjoy it! Have a super weekend!

Karen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Work In Progress! Karen’s Under Funstruction!

  1. I love that song!! I love alot of Kutlass songs — they seem to really hit home.

Leave a Reply

