Best Valentines Day Date Ever! Who is it?

In following suit with my resolution of being selfish for 2011, I ended up having one the best Valentine’s Days EVER! I decided to put myself first and treat me how I would treat my Valentine. Let me tell you, I was a darn good date and I would totally go out with myself again! I started the day making an egg white vegetarian omelet with a delicious fresh fruit side salad. Eaten in total peace and quite, I relished the silence. After thanking the chef for this glorious food display (hee-hee), I hopped in the car and headed to the gym wearing my favorite shirt that reads, ‘Silly boys, weights are for girls!’ I jumped on the elliptical before hitting the weights. After going through a routine that Arnold Schwarzenegger would be proud of, I raced home for a nice relaxing bubble bath before I unveiled to my Valentine the best treat of all. Tucked inside my purse was a homemade coupon made by me for a manicure and spa pedicure that I promised myself I could redeem when I hit the 20 pound mark. How ironic it happened around Valentines Day! Now V-Day for me is also Victory Day!

I was as giddy as a little kid as I drove to the spa. I settled into the lounger and turned the chair on and just melted. So this is what its like to be spoiled! I thought for a second I died and went to heaven, but as I looked around I couldn’t see people I knew would be up there, you know, JFK Jr., Elvis and Ron Santo!

I stopped on the way home to pick myself up a little bundle of flowers and was grinning from ear to ear as I arranged them in a vase at home. For the first time in a while, I looked in the mirror and smiled at myself. I was glowing. I was confident. I was content. And I was proud of myself.

This Better U Challenge reacquainted me with someone who was lost amidst the PTO meetings, the carpools, work functions and charity events. I am hoping other women that read this also will take the time to take care of themselves. You know, if you don’t take care of yourself, who will? And as Loreal always states, you’re worth it!

Karen :o)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Best Valentines Day Date Ever! Who is it?

  1. Carol says:

    I am so proud of you Karen and you are such an inspirtation to me! I just need to get to the gym and sign up…I know I need “me” time!!

    Keep up the good work!!
    Carol

  2. Juanita says:

    Karen –

    Boy, you’ve done an excellent job taking great care of yourself! And, you’re right – if you don’t do it, who will. Keep making lifestyle changes that will improve your life for many years to come. You are an inspiration and I’m so very proud of you!

  3. Kristi says:

    Way to go Karen! You are taking great care of yourself!

  4. Melissa says:

    Karen! I am so proud of you! Keep up the good work!

  5. sandy krug says:

    Very fun to read about your great V-day! I also like the quote “If you don’t take care of your body, where are you going to live?” Sounds like the best day ever…thanks for sharing! Sandy

Leave a Reply

