A new me!

My name is Mayra and today I start a new adventure. Last week I met 8 other wonderful women who are on the right track to changing their lives like I am. We all share a common goal, to live healthier lives to fight against heart disease, the #1 killer of women.
My two long term goals are to eat healthier and keep a consistent exercising routine. After my health screening last week, I realized that a short term goal that needs working on is eating more vegetables. So this weekend I was doing some healthy grocery shopping and came upon the Ziploc Steamer bags. People, I just want to say My name is Mayra and today I start a new adventure. Last week I met 8 other wonderful women who are on the right track to changing their lives like I am. We all share a common goal, to live healthier lives to fight against heart disease, the #1 killer of women.
My two long term goals are to eat healthier and keep a consistent exercising routine. After my health screening last week, I realized that a short term goal that needs working on is eating more vegetables. So this weekend I was doing some healthy grocery shopping and came upon the Ziploc Steamer bags. People, I just want to say these bags are AWESOME! I never realized how easy it was to use these bags. Sunday night I cut up some raw chicken and threw i

Mayra Johnson

t in the bag, threw in some raw vegetables, threw in diced potatoes, and added some lemon pepper and olive oil. I sealed the bag and placed it in the microwave for 7 minutes. I couldn’t believe it! The chicken was cooked all the way, the veggies seasoned and cooked and the potatoes nice and soft. It was so yummy and only under about 350 calories. My husband and daughter even enjoyed the meal. We tried it again tonight and yummo!
I was so excited about the bags that I took a bag with raw veggies to work and microwaved it and had some yummy veggies at lunch. I started showing people the bag and talking to them about how easy it was to prepare the food. I even announced my exciting experience on Facebook and challenged friends and family to go out and try the bags. So I challenge readers of this blog to go out and try the bags and let me know what you think, we could even start swapping recipes.
Quick, easy and healthy; now that’s my kind of cooking!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new me!

  1. Marianne says:

    Way to go, Mayra. Your goals are great. I think incorporating more vegetables into our diets is a huge way to improve our health! Good luck with your program. I’m excited to follow you and the other 8 courageous women on this journey!

  2. Karen Condon says:

    Thanks for the tip! I will be picking up several of these Ziplocs! A great time saver for moms on the move!!

Leave a Reply

