Go Red BetterU Participant ~ Carole Schwager

Carole Schwager

I am so excited to be a part of the BetterU Challenge.  From our first meeting with the 8 other participants and our fantastic sponsors/coaches at the American Heart Association, Provena Mercy Medical Center, and Provena Saint Joseph Hospital, I can tell it is going to be a wonderful, life changing experience for us all.  All women can join us on this quest by going to http://www.goredforwomen.org/betteru/index.aspx

My personal BetterU goal is to overcome my “aversion” to exercise.  Common sense tells me exercise is required to stay healthy, especially as we age.  I see people smoking and think, “Don’t they know that can kill them?”  And, here I am ~ not exercising.  Leading a sedentary lifestyle will help lead to my death.  I know this; I’ve known it for a long time! So why am I not moving more, other than walking the dog and going up/down stairs, in my daily life?  Exercise here I come!

Did you know that heart disease is the #1 killer of women?  I learned this during our meeting referenced above.  Other stats presented:  It kills more women than the next 6 causes of death ~ combined.  Since 1979, the death rate for heart disease in men has declined by 17%, but the rate for women has slightly increased over this same time period.  Heart disease claims the lives of nearly 500,000 women each year ~ nearly one woman per minute.

Go Red for Women is the American Heart Association’s nationwide movement that celebrates the energy, passion, and power of women banding together to wipe out heart disease.  Please join us and we’ll all become better.  Do it NOW while you’re online ~~ http://www.goredforwomen.org/betteru/index.aspx

More from me later ~ it’s time to stand up and get moving!

Regards,

Carole

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go Red BetterU Participant ~ Carole Schwager

  1. Jodi says:

    Carole – we are so lucky to have you be a part of BetterU this year! Really looking forward to working with you and seeing your progress! Go Red!

Leave a Reply

